Pur ti miro – Monteverdi – L’Incoronazione di Poppea:

OPERA NERO AND WIFE

Not sure why I am adding this to my blog. It is on youtube. What can I add to it? I came across this for the first time recently when I saw the first episode of Howard Goodall’s recent series on the history of music. I never really liked opera and didn’t think that would change. Goodall persuaded me I was wrong. And I find this piece haunting. I also was struck by the story behind this scene. It changes things and it makes me feel very uneasy. Such beautiful music draws me in as the story runs a shiver down my spine. I feel I should turn away, but I cannot. Something else. The idea of romantic love and losing yourself in that when you feel compelled by political responsibilities… That has always caused me anxiety. For most of my life I have been able to ignore it. But as I have gotten older I feel like letting go of the political world. Leave it to youths to sort out. I need a break. I need to find a soulmate, and start to live before I die. In recent years I have been drawn by love stories, tragic love stories. They move me. It was probably Neil Gaiman and Joss Whedon that got me into this. Only after that did I discover Virgil and…. Not sure why I’m saying any of this. Maybe sleep deprivation. Need sleep so bad. 😦

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

