Just been told to commit suicide. Do I respond with #TwitterSilence?

Right wing troll tells me to kill myself. But I'm not a woman, so I this is not abuse?

Right wing troll tells me to kill myself. But I’m not a woman, so I this is not abuse?

Can’t speak for anyone else, but I consider it abuse to be told on twitter that you should commit suicide. I don’t care if the target of the abuse is male or female. Abuse is abuse. And when twitter brings in its abuse button, I don’t see any reason not to report this tweet and see if it breaks Twitter’s rules.

And since all those who have refused to tweet today have been dismissed by this individual as acting like turds, I am at a loss as to why they think refusing to challenge this abuser helps any of them or any other victims of this abuse. Why not expose these trolls today as on every other day?

Those participating in this Trolliday of Twittersilence may all be well-meaning, but the tactics are terrible. What are the demands? Who is being told to do something? What if they don’t do it? Who picked this day for Twitter silence? Why were alternatives not discussed? Why was no one allowed an opportunity to argue against this? Why propose an ultimatum and imply those who were never given a chance to challenge this strategy are scabs breaking solidarity? This sows division and allows right-wing trolls to exploit these divisions.

This entry was posted in politics, suicide, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

