#TwitterPoem Manifesto:

We’re in a box
We’re not #haiku
140 chars
What can we do?

Sardines in a can
I AM NOT A FREE MAN
I’m number six
Tattoo back o’ my han’

***************

A shiny object sees me and it smiles
Caught in its web. Seductive wiles
#ADHD is a pain in arse
It is a farce Giving me piles

***************

A #Twitterpoem is a thing 2 b
Swim in a sea. No 1 Cs u p
U rhyme all the time
It’s grate 2 b free
140 characters punch poetry
Byebye #RIP

***********

Heart on your sleeve
Knob on a door
Your walls have ears
Room full of gore
You lit your fart
Room full of gas
Mopping you up
Pain in the ass

************

Peering out of both your eyes
Zips unlidded. Buzzing flies
Cannot move in airless dark
Bones dug up by dogs in park

************

I found a poem
Locked in my head
Wormed out of box
Freed from brain dead
Butterfly flew
To be cozy and warm
Flew into eye of
Kangaroo storm

***************

Me not a monkey
Just hairy and weird
Hands for my feet
All-over beard
It’s not a tail
Just a very long thing
Down on one knee
Got you a ring

**************

Here we are trapped
In oblong box
140 characters
No keys for these locks
The air is thin
Space running out
We’ll suffocate
There is no doubt

***************

I went to bed
Couldn’t find sleep
Wanna watch spies
I’m Tom. I peep
I like Skyfall
And Thunderball
Ball fall through wall
Crush #MI5 creep

******************

Rhythm & rhyme
Symbol or 2
Crash poet tree house
Edgar die on loo
Raven leaves haven
What have I done?
Poetry police
Life sentence I won 😦

****************

Here is a rhythm
Tunnel ‘n’ train
Liquid thru funnel
Flushing our pain
Fall into sleep
Isn’t it deep
Waking a nightmare
Down wormhole we peep

**********

You found a beat
That we both like
You staked my heart
With wooden spike
We shake our spear
Into your ear
Lady of the Ring
We both disappear

********

Here we are trapped
In oblong box
140 characters
No keys for these locks
The air is thin
Space running out
We’ll suffocate
There is no doubt

************

A lot of what I tweet isn’t meant to be taken seriously. It’s my filling emptiness with playfulness. But my tweet about my poems is serious.

Simon Armitage + William McGonagall  + 140 character limit + Kimya Dawson’s “I’m Fine” = #MyNewPoeticLeaseOfLife #BlameThem!

#haiku has rules. 17 syllables being the most obvious. What about #TwitterPoetry? I have an idea…

#TwitterPoem = Try to fill 140 chars. Use end rhymes. Mechanical beat: eg Kimya Dawson’s I’m Fine. Surreal humour. Self deprecating. #RULES!

This entry was posted in poem, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

