Cock-up? Conspiracy? Maliciousness? Incompetence? Scapegoats? Whistleblowers?

My last blogpost was the first introduction to what I need to speak to West of Scotland Stewart Maxwell about: https://derekthomas2010.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/new-years-resolution-on-protecting-trade-union-scapegoats/. It is something he should read before meeting me. This post is the next thing he ought to read to prepare himself for meeting me.

I have been placed in a very awkward position. I am withholding the names of many individuals whose behavior has been nothing short of criminal and I expect Stewart Maxwell to do something about that. I thought he had agreed to help me with this but it appears I did not get my message across to him any better than with Douglas Alexander’s secretary. However, unlike with the latter, I am giving Stewart Maxwell a second opportunity to help me as one of his constituents.

In order to ensure that Stewart is aware of what I am saying I have no option but to make things public that I have struggled to keep private. But that doesn’t seem to be working, so I guess I am going to have to make almost everything public. That would appear to be the only way to make sure that people don’t hide behind amnesia.

When I say I am going to make almost everything public, the ‘almost’ qualifier is important. I am not giving anyone permission to make public anything I tell them in confidence. Secondly, I am going to try to keep many individual’s identity’s secret, for the time being. In the past I have broken that restriction. Their name is already ‘out there’. I have blogged and tweeted too much to find all this material and redact their names. These names are I think in all circumstances only those whose behavior has been so wretched as to merit their public exposure, sacking and in some cases being prosecuted. Nevertheless, while I am happy to repeat allegations under oath, there is no reason why I should expect others to take my word for it when I have no witnesses. I will offer evidence under oath, if they offer different testimony one of us will be telling porkies, and it won’t be me. But these individuals deserve in many cases to have their names kept secret, for the time being.

In my last post I distinuished between those whose betrayals is based on malicious motives and a different class of people whose betrayals can be dismissed as incompetence. There are a fair number of individuals who I don’t want to dump in either category. I don’t think too many trade unionists at Renfrewshire Council are going to be queuing up to sign a statement that accepts my version of events and put their having let me down to ‘mere’ incompetence. The media will leap on any such concession. While this may stop them being prosecuted for a crime, they would be likely to become scapegoats for what has gone wrong, and they are very likely to lose their jobs even if I insist I do not want that to happen. This is a problem for me as well as for them. How do we get round this? I have an idea or two….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

